By Sule Sani

Past presidents of the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) has described the process of the just concluded election of the new executives of the association as transparent and peaceful.

This was contained in a communique issued at the end of a meeting they held on Wednesday in Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

The three past presidents of the association who signed the communique are Steve Alabi, Olu Amadasun and Sai’idu Abubakar.

The communique reads:

“After careful deliberations, we resolved as follows:

“We commend the transparency of the entire process of the election of the new National Executive led by Honour Sirawoo and express confidence in his leadership.

“We commend the commitment of the entire leadership of the Association across the 37 chapters in the country, to democratic principles in the emergence and renewal of leadership without compromise.

“We commend the stout resolve of the entire membership of the Association to resist absurd overture from some quarters to subvert the 2019 National Triennial Delegates Conference which successfully held in Port Harcourt from Sunday, October 6, 2019 to Wednesday, October 9, 2019.

“We commend the peaceful and orderly manner the conference was held.

“We note with satisfaction, the immense support of His Excellency, Chief Barrister Nyesom Ezenwo Wike, the Executive Governor of Rivers State for the Association and commend his giant strides in sports and other areas of development.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here